Phyllis Paccadolmi Awards

Phyllis Paccadolmi (192?-2006) devoted over 50 years of her long life to the Ridgefield Library, joining its small staff straight out of high school in 1946 and retiring in 1999 after having served in every capacity from page to director. For generations of Ridgefielders, “Miss P” personified the Ridgefield Library and is remembered fondly for her warmth, helpfulness and encyclopedic knowledge of the town and its people. This award honors those whose commitment to the Library exemplifies her spirit and dedication.

Contact: Chris Nolan, Library Director, 203-438-6960


2015 Award Winners

The 2015 Paccadolmi Awards were given out on Sunday, June 28th during a special celebration also marking the completion of our first year in the beautiful New Ridgefield Library. Congratulations to the recipients, and thanks for all they have done for the Library!

Leadership: Carroll W. Brewster
Carroll Brewster, Emeritus Director of the Library Board, is being honored for his guidance and leadership in shaping the New Ridgefield Library and helping over many years to make it a reality. As Chair from 2003 - 2005 and again in 2010 - 2011, his vast experience and love of libraries helped us to envision a 21st century building that also honored intellectual and community traditions that he cherishes. His presence in countless meetings of committees devoted to strategic planning, fundraising, building design and board governance consistently advanced the mission and goals of the institution. Always the consummate gentleman, Carroll inspired his fellow Board members, the Library staff and Ridgefielders of all persuasions to come together to create a New Ridgefield Library of which our community can be proud.

Volunteerism: Kimberly Sauter
Computer scientist Kimberly Sauter has been an inspiration and a guiding influence to the Library’s staff and patrons, helping us to unlock the potential for creativity and technology in the New Ridgefield Library. She has been a prime mover behind the Library’s collaborative Hour of Code programs in partnership with the Ridgefield Public Schools and the Ridgefield Education Foundation, which continue to grow and expand each year. Beyond all else, Kimberly’s dedication to the Library’s chapter of the national Girls Who Code initiative as a volunteer instructor goes far above and beyond the level of commitment one could expect, meeting week after week through the entire school year to tackle the intellectual and practical challenges posed by the program. Kimberly has been a teacher, a communicator, an advocate, a mentor and a friend to the young women in the club, to the Library staff and to so many more in the community.

Past Year's Recipients:

Philip and Christine Lodewick and The Friends of the Ridgefield Library

Barbara Dobbin and Patricia Tenney and The McGerald Family (Evan, Katherine, Kasey, Ethan & Riley)

Lori Dowling and Marcia Simha

N.M. Donofrio and Liz Montanari

Peter T. Coffin and Dr. Heidi B. Hammel

Hope H. Swenson and Melissa Brady

Dr. Theodore Safford, Jr. and Nicole & Daniel Gutter

Morton S. Bailey, III and Gretchen Bishop





Nicole and Daniel Gutter, recipients of the 2008 Paccadolmi Award for volunteerism